Receiving the Light – Quick Inspirational Thought from Winter’s Tale

In Winter’s Tale, Pearly Soames is obsessed with brightly colored gems.  “What makes these gems so special?”  He asks, somewhat rhetorically, and then answers his own question: “It’s the way they receive the light.” 

 

I can’t get that quote out of my mind.

 

Here’s the thing, the light falls on everything, but the gemstones are special because of the way they RECEIVE the light.  They receive it.  Accept it.  Internalize it.  Welcome it inside of them.  It illuminates them and bounces around inside of them.  Other things, when the light falls on them, reject and deflect it, but those gems, the ones of great worth—they receive it in a way lesser stones, rocks, things… do not.

 

I think it’s the same for us as Christians.  What makes us unique?  What makes us noteworthy, lovely to behold?  One thing, only one thing—it’s the way we receive the light.  While others reject it and deflect it, we receive it.  We accept it.  Internalize it.  Welcome it inside of us.  The Light illuminates us and reverberates inside of us.  That’s what sets us apart.  That’s what makes us special.

 

So how AM I receiving the Light?  IS the Light of the World illuminating me?  AM I willing to receive it?  To let it shine on the dark and hidden places?  Do I allow Him to bring to light the things I have hidden?  Do I want to shine myself, or am I willing to simply receive His light (that takes some humility!)?

It is my hope that when people look at me and my fellow believer in Christ, they would be compelled to  wonder: What makes these Christians so special?  And it is equally my hope that they would come to the same conclusion pearly did:  It’s the way they receive the light.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Cultural Commentary, Devotions, Movies, Object lesson and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Receiving the Light – Quick Inspirational Thought from Winter’s Tale

  1. RJ Kennett says:

    Fantastic, and I might add, diamonds have to be cut before they can shine brightly. When life gets hard, we can be sure God is cutting us so that we’ll shine more brightly.

  2. Kathy says:

    Loved this!!!! So inspirational 🙂

Leave a Reply

