Sharing the Shade

IMG_5353.JPG

I was sitting outside this morning, grabbing a bagel and reading my Bible. There were two outside tables. One had an umbrella for shade, the other did not. The one with the umbrella was taken, so I took the other. The thing is, because the sun was still in the East, and my table was West of the umbrella, I had plenty of shade. It wasn’t my umbrella, but the sun shone in such a way that of us received its blessing.

It’s a little thing, but as I left, it dawned on me, that’s pretty much the story of my life. Most of the blessings I enjoy haven’t been ones I possessed, personally. They were like that shade this morning—someone else’s blessing that, because of the way God shines on it, and the way He has positioned me, I get to share in the benefit.

In fact, it’s the way He intends for all his blessings to work – little umbrellas whose shades benefit not only the one sitting at the table, but everyone around it, too.

You will be enriched in every way to be generous in every way, which through us will produce thanksgiving to God. – 2 Corinthians 9:11

This entry was posted in Devotions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

